INVITED TALKS

Dr. Josh Andres
September 14, 2021
09:00 Central European Time (18:00 AEST Time)
“Cybernetic Orders and Designing Electric Bike Systems”

Dr. Josh Andres is a Senior Lecturer in the School of Cybernetics at the Australian National University. His research focuses on human-computer integration, inbodied interaction, and using a cybernetic lens to reveal and study the relationship between humans, AI-enabled cyber-physical systems and the environment as one whole ecosystem. In this talk, Josh will introduce the idea of cybernetic orders as technological zoom levels to design three electric bike systems.

Prof. Florian Michahelles
September 14, 2021
10:00 Central European Time
“Towards the eternity bike – experiences from building a self-balancing bicycle”

Florian Michahelles is a professor of ubiquitous computing at the Artifact-based computing & user research group at TU Wien. His main research interest focuses on “how can user and machine together achieve more than either alone?”. He is also a passionate cyclist and strong believer of a higher quality of life of a more walkable and rideable environment. https://media.tuwien.ac.at/people/florian-michahelles/

Johannes Schering
September 14, 2021
11:00 Central European Time
“How can an attention sensitive bicycle helmet assist bicycle logistics?”

Johannes Schering is a research associate at the Department of Business Informatics VLBA, Carl von Ossietzky University of Oldenburg. His researches is focusing on smart cycling solutions, open bicycle data in a European context and sustainable mobility. Johannes is developer and initiator of the mFUND project “Development of an attention-sensitive bicycle helmet as an assistance system for cargo bike-based city logistics – SmartHelm”.
https://smart-helm.com/
https://www.bmvi.de/SharedDocs/DE/Artikel/DG/mfund-projekte/smarthelm.html
Dr. Nitish Nag
July 20, 2021
17:00 Central European Time (8:00 PDT)
“Experiences with interactive Technology in Professional Cycling”

Dr. Nitish Nag is a researcher and athlete and M.D. Candidate  with a strong interest for developing health technologies, specifically in the areas of preventive medicine. He is also a passionate cyclist  and will share his experiences with mobile and wearable technology from his personal experience and a professional mountain athlete. https://nitishnag.wordpress.com/about/

Prof. Alan Dix
July 20, 2021
18:00 Central European Time (17:00 UK Time)
“Experiences with Technology from a 1000 miles walk around Wales”

Prof. Alan Dix is the director of the Computational Foundry at Swansea University [academic home page] and work on most things that connect people and computers. He walked  the complete periphery of Wales, over a thousand miles. Beyond his personal experience of this walk, he explored the needs of the walker and the people along the way and the role that technology can play.